top of page

Take 10

First of all I want to give a special thanks to Gildan Media,NetGallery, and finally to Dr. Rangan Chatterjee for writing/ recording " Feel Better in 5".


This blog/ review is based on Feel Better in 5 Your Daily Plan to Feel Great for Life by Dr.Rangan Chatterjee please note this is my thoughts and idea based on the audiobook.


Dr. Chatterjee says we can " feel better in five minutes" do I believe this is true absolutely if YOU do the work. Here is thing do I really have 15 minutes for each pillar mind, body, and heart ( I personally like calling this one soul(;


When I first listening to this I was like okay I can commit to five minutes a day why not !?

However , when I heard there was three pillars (section) I was like umm I don't think this is realistic at all especially the body one. I have literally tried every yoga sequence, HIT program, and the list goes on! However, Dr. Chatterjee mention a "health snack" which was called JUST PLAY. And I thought wait I do this every day at work this should count right?


I will break down the pillars and health snacks that I connected to or liked and talk about them below:


Pillar ONE: Mind


In the beginning of the MIND chapter he talks about a "download" what does this mean? You get a piece of paper , a timer, and a pen write what is in your mind for five minutes. This was one " first health snacks" I tried and personally I was not fond of , but I feel it is because it does not go with my personality and I kept looking at the timer which gave me like anxiety ( laughing at this now) however, I really love how he said do not use your cell phone to write for this and to buy a nice journal/notebook if you into that. I think I might try this health snack again when I am ready to be honest , because this concept seems legit.

I really agree with the idea of nature for this topic because there is a lot of benefits like supporting your immune system (if you dress according to the weather), boost your creativity ( by like 100% just my opinion there is reach too), improves your sleep (especially if you go out in the morning), and the obvious one great for your breathing. I personally do not go outside as much as I use to because of COVID ,but I want to change this bad habit I have once this is all over because I love walking in nature.

So which health snack did I choose for my mind?

I choose something that I use to find fun and I stopped doing it "because I did not have time". By the way I really called BS on myself on this one (but hey you live and learn right?!) . My NEW health snack is.... WORD PUZZLES yeah I find these fun and have actually been doing them ( not weekends). Let me tell you something I do one a day that is it and I notice everyday that I find the words quicker. Also , please note I do not use an application for this! I actually liked the fact that I am away from my phone when I do these. I also motivated myself and bought color fine pens for fun too!


Pillar TWO: Body


Like I mentioned earlier this is very challenging for me and have decided that JUST PLAY is part of my daily practice since I work with kids. Recently I had a knee issue and was not able to participate in a lot movement with my kids. THEREFORE, now that thankfully I am better my goal is to make this a major part of our day since the days are getting colder here in the east coast. I also have chosen one song mostly a Christmas one to just listen to it and see where that leads me. I still need to work more on this health snack but I do like the idea of creating a small playlist and dancing to it , because I feel that would be something I would really enjoy.


Pillar Three: Heart ( THE SOUL SECTION)


I really liked this section because, I feel like a lot of us has lost touch with this one over time due to social media. I mean I remember spending hours talking to my best friend on my phone just talk and with my boyfriend too. When was last time you actually phoned a friend and not texted them? Sometimes texting does get lost in translation and usually that annoying friend that will leave you a voice message over a text.

If you are into forgiveness practices or affirmations these amazing questions where part of the audiobook and I wrote them down ( so get your notebook and pen ready):

1) Who or what are you ready to forgive?
2) How did it make you feel?
3) Why are you doing this and what benefits will you recieve?
4) What might have led the other person to behave in the way they did? ( In simple terms put yourself in someone else's shoes.

Once you are done for fun make an affirmation out of your responses if you can!

What did I choose for my Heart health snack? Like i said I like the word soul instead was actually a tea ritual . I love tea so much many of you know this by now! However, I usually watch tv,movie, or I am on my cellphone while drinking tea.

Therefore, now I spend ten minutes for myself with no cell phone or tv just me in total silence drinking tea and doing a word puzzle! I truly love it and I think it is my little break of the day to wind down and just be by myself. Hey sometimes I need it as a daycare teacher(;


Hope this blog was helpful for you if this sounds like a book that can change your life (it is(; HIGHLY think you should read or listen to this book check it out here : https://drchatterjee.com/feel-better-in-5/





30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page